Saga Press launch list signed first editions

Item Name & Description: A signed first edition set of all four of Saga Press’s launch titles. Includes

  • The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu
  • Persona by Genevieve Valentine
  • City of Savages by Lee Kelly
  • The Darkside War by Zachary Brown.

Saga Press launch list signed first editions Cover images for Grace of Kings, Persona, City of Savages, Darkside War Saga Press launch list signed first editions Saga Press launch list signed first editions

Starting Bid: $25

Notes: Will ship anywhere.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 7 Comments }

Memoirs of Lady Trent, #1-3, by Marie Brennan

Item Name & Description: signed UK trade paperbacks of the first three Memoirs of Lady Trent, A Natural History of Dragons, The Tropic of Serpents, and Voyage of the Basilisk

Starting Bid: $30

Notes: no shipping restrictions.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 13 Comments }

Adventure Time #15 Cover C Signed

Item Name & Description: Adventure Time #15 Cover C signed by cover artist Nidhi Chanani.

Starting Bid: $10

Notes: Will ship USPS first class in USA only. Personalization available.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 1 Comment }

Misty: The Proud Cloud Signed Children’s Book

Item Name & Description: A hardcover copy of Misty: The Proud Cloud. Signed by both author Hugh Howey and illustrator Nidhi Chanani.

This is the first children’s book from best-selling science fiction writer Hugh Howey.


Starting Bid: $15

Notes: Will ship USPS first class in USA only.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 1 Comment }

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison (signed hardcover)

book coverItem Name & Description: a hardcover of The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, donated and signed by the author.

This standalone fantasy novel has been nominated for the Hugo and Nebula Awards for Best Novel.

Starting Bid: $10.

Notes: Ships anywhere. Personalization is available.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 10 Comments }

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold (signed hardcover)

Item Name & Description: a hardcover of Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold, donated and signed by the author.

This is the second book of the Chalion series and won the Hugo Award for Best Novel, the Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel, and the Nebula Award for Best Novel.

Starting Bid: $10.

Notes: Ships anywhere. Personalization is available.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 4 Comments }

Rachel Caine’s The Morganville Vampires Superfan Swag-Bag

Item Name & Description: This is a swagtacular collection of merchandise and memorabilia from Rachel Caine’s New York Times-bestselling The Morganville Vampires series and hit TV show! It includes:

  • an autographed copy of The Morganville Vampires, Volume 1
  • a pair of vampire bunny slippers (a.k.a. the “Rabbit With Big Pointy Teeth” slippers)
  • the Morganville: The Series paper doll book
  • “Common Grounds” coffee mug
  • lenticular double-wide Fall of Night bookmark
  • Morganville: The Series souvenir postcard
  • set of six Morganville temporary tattoos (all different designs)
  • Morganville Resident Identification Card
  • green rubber Morganville wrist band

All items are new; cat not included. Please feel free to contact me with any questions – and don’t forget to check out Ink and Bone!

-Tex

Starting Bid: $25

Notes: I’ll ship for free to the US and Canada, and contribute up to $25 to the cost of shipping to other countries.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 5 Comments }

One Night in Sixes – Rare Annotated Misprint Edition

Item Name & Description: This is an annotated, autographed, first-edition British copy of my debut novel, One Night in Sixes. This is a rare item never offered for sale: a misprinted page was discovered before the book’s release, causing the rest of this run to be pulped and subsequently re-issued. I’ve added the missing page manually, and annotated the book with my own notes about the writing, characters, research, etc.

One Night in Sixes is the first book in an epic fantasy Western series, recommended for fans of Cormac McCarthy, George R.R. Martin, and Joss Whedon’s Firefly. I’ll be glad to personalize the autograph for the winner. Please feel free to contact me with any questions. Happy bidding!

-Tex

Starting Bid: $10

Notes: I’ll ship for free to the US and Canada, and contribute up to $25 to the cost of shipping to other countries.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 13 Comments }

Sex, Gender and Social Change in Britain since 1880 (second edition) by Lesley A. Hall

Item Name & Description: Copy of Lesley A. Hall, Sex, Gender and Social Change in Britain since 1880 (Palgrave Macmillan 2012), second edition, updated, revised and expanded. Donated by the author.

Description:

Sexual attitudes and behaviour have changed radically in Britain between the Victorian era and the twenty-first century. However, Lesley A. Hall reveals how slow and halting the processes of change have been, and how many continuities have persisted under a façade of modernity.

Thoroughly revised, updated and expanded, the second edition of this established text:

  • explores a wide range of relevant topics including marriage, homosexuality, commercial sex, media representations, censorship, sexually transmitted diseases and sex education
  • features an entirely new last chapter which brings the narrative right up to the present day
  • provides fresh insights by bringing together further original research and recent scholarship in the area.

Lively and authoritative, this is an essential volume for anyone studying the history of sexual culture in Britain during a period of rapid social change.

Starting Bid: $10

Notes: the author will sign if required, and will cover shipping costs internationally.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 12 Comments }

Signed copy of Unseaming by Mike Allen

SIgned copy of Unseaming by Mike AllenItem Name & Description: Signed copy of Unseaming by Mike Allen

A collection of 14 horror stories in trade paperback, signed by author. Introduction by Laird Barron.

“Mike Allen has put together a first class collection of horror and dark fantasy. Unseaming burns bright as hell among its peers.”

—Laird Barron, author of The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

“Allen’s stories deliver solid shivering terror tinged with melancholy sorrow over the fragility of humankind.”

Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Allen leaves readers with nerves jangling.”

Library Journal, starred review

“An exceptional debut collection … its stories show an imaginative writer with a very original voice working at the top of his game.”
Locus

Everyone in the world awakens covered in blood—and no one knows where the blood came from. A childhood doll arrives to tear its owner’s reality limb from limb. A portal to the spirit realm stretches wide on the Appalachian Trail, and something more than human crawls through on eight legs. Words of comfort change to terrifying sounds as a force from outside time speaks through them. The buttons in the bin will unseam your flesh to bare your nastiest secrets.

Opening with “The Button Bin,” a finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Short Story, and culminating with its sequel, “The Quiltmaker,” which Bram Stoker Award and Shirley Jackson Award winner Laird Barron has hailed as Mike Allen’s masterpiece, this debut collection gathers fourteen horror tales that, in the words of Barron’s introduction, “rival anything committed to paper by the likes of contemporary masters such as Clive Barker, Ramsey Campbell, or Caitlín Kiernan. This is raw, visceral, and sometimes bloody stuff. Primal stuff.”

More praise for Unseaming:

“Throughout Unseaming, reality is usually in bad shape right from the start—and from there things proceed to go downhill. Such is the general background and trajectory of life in Mike Allen’s fictional world. More could be said, of course, but there’s one thing that I feel especially urged to say: these stories are fun. Not ‘good’ fun, and certainly not ‘good clean’ fun. They are too unnerving for those modifiers, too serious, like laughter in the dark-unnerving, serious laughter that leads you through Mr. Allen’s funhouse. The reality in there is also in bad shape, deliberately so, just for the seriously unnerving fun of it. The prose is poetic, except it’s nonsense poetry, the poetry of deteriorating realities, intermingling realities, realities without Reality. And all the while that unnerving, serious laughter keeps getting louder and louder. Are we having fun yet?”

—Thomas Ligotti, author of The Spectral Link

“Mike Allen’s ability as a poet is evident throughout this fever dream of a book. Brutal, elegant, and shocking, the stories in Unseaming are snapshots of a beautiful Hell.”

—Nathan Ballingrud, author of North American Lake Monsters

Starting Bid: $15

Notes: I’ll ship anywhere in the world at no additional charge for the winning bidder.

Bidding is now open. It closes Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. (time zone conversions, countdown) unless bids are received in the last ten minutes (learn more).

{ 4 Comments }

This is an archive view of Con or Bust's 2013-2016 auctions and posts. For the 2017 auction, to request assistance, and other current information, please see Con or Bust's main site.